7 Sámi Stories
Seven Sámi filmmakers contributes with one short film each. The project is part of ISFI’s Sámi Film Lab, the goal is to strengthen and elevate young Sámi filmmakers and their stories. > Download pdf
Funders:
Stacks Image 2141
Sámi Film Lab: Burning Sun

Májjen carries a very special hat. All the women in her tribe wear this hat. Its shape resembles a horn. The hat is of great value for her. But the men representing the church means the hat has a likeness to the horn of the devil himself. So the hats must be extinguished.

Script and Director: Elle Márjá Eira
Producers: Ken Are Bongo, Elle Márjá Eira, Davás Film
Photos: CM Proffen, Johan Mathis Gaup
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producers: Ken Are Bongo, kenare@gmail.com or Elle Marja Eira, sahkkonsound@gmail.com
Sámi Film Lab: Long Live Sápmi

Ellos Sápmi is the story of the charismatic womanizer Klemet, whose leadership is deprived and who is betrayed by his own people. Naked hippie ladies, sex and bombs adorn this rebellious comedy, revealing the truth about what really happened when the first, Sami Parliament was formed. Ellos Sápmi is one revolutionary depiction of a historical event, based on a true story of none less than Niillas A. Somby.

Director: Per Josef Idivuoma
Script: Per Josef Idivuoma and Niilas A. Somby
Producer: Odd Levi Paulsen, Julev Film
Photos: CM Proffen, Johan Mathis Gaup
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producer: Odd Levi Paulsen, odd.levi@gmail.com
Director: Per Josef Idivuoma, per-josef@idistudios.se
Sámi Film Lab: O.M.G. (Oh Máigon Girl)

The midnight sun is shining; two teenage girls are bored of their small little community. They want some adventure, so they decide to hitch hike somewhere else, they are taken to a ride not without risks.

Director: Marja Bål Nango
Script: Marja Bål Nango and Ingir Bål
Producers: Marja Bål Nango and Marie Lagerkvist
Photos: Johan Mathis Gaup
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producers: Marja Bål Nango, marjabalnango@outlook.com or Marie Lagerkvist, marie.lagerkvist@mac.com
Sámi Film Lab: Edith & Aljosja

A woman and a man, a river keeps them separated. Do they have to break the laws of nature to come close to each other?

Script and Director: Ann Holmgren
Producers: Odd Levi Paulsen, Julev Film and Oskar Östergren, Bauta Film
Photos: Ann Holmgren, Johan Mathis Gaup
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producers: Odd Levi Paulsen, odd.levi@gmail.com or Oskar Östergren, Bauta Film oskar@bautafilm.se
Sámi Film Lab: Áile and Grandmother

Grandmother teaches Áile the powers of nature and healing, but when Áile’s secret is exposed Grandmother’s truth is also unveiled, thus forcing Áile to trust her inner powers. Will she be able to save their relationship?

Script and Director: Silja Somby
Producer: Odd Levi Paulsen, Julev Film
Photos: Hans Olof Utsi
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producer: Odd Levi Paulsen, odd.levi@gmail.com
Sámi Film Lab: The Afflicted Animal

A father and his 9 year old daughter has a playful and close relationship. The mother has been sick for some time, but this is never talked about. The relationship between father and daughter changes the day the daughter asks for help, for her sick dog.

Script and Director: Egil Pedersen
Producer: Mathis Ståle Mathisen, Rein Film
Photos: Hans Olof Utsi
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Producer: Mathis Ståle Mathisen, Rein Film, mathis@reinfilm.no
Director: Egil Pedersen, Snöfokk Film, snofokkfilm@egilpedersen.com
Sámi Film Lab: Sámi Bojá

Mikkel, a young man, is alone with the reindeer herd most of the time. Even though he has a family, life in seclusion makes him loose track of reality and fantasy. The ongoing activity in his mind demands him to make a drastic decision.

Script and Director: Elle Sofe Henriksen
Producer: Elle Marja Eira, Kautokeino Film
Photos: Niels Ovllá Dunfjell, Torgrim Halvari, Kenneth Heatta
For questions about viewing and copies of the films contact:
Director: Elle Sofe Henriksen, ellesofe@gmail.com
Producer: Elle Marja Eira, sahkkonsound@gmail.com